top of page
amaroo nh2.jpg

Who We Are

The Network of Inner East Community Houses (NIECH) is an incorporated association governed by a Committee elected from the member Neighbourhood Houses & Learning Centres of the Network. NIECH was incorporated in May 1989.


NIECH provides support and advocacy to 29 Neighbourhood Houses/Learning Centres, in the Inner Eastern suburbs of Melbourne, covering four local government areas – including, the City of Boroondara, Manningham, Monash and Whitehorse.

NIECH Membership consists of the following Houses/Centres:

City of Boroondara

Alamein Neighbourhood Learning Centre

Ashburton Community Centre

Balwyn Community Centre

Bowen Street Community Centre

Camberwell Community Centre

Canterbury Neighbourhood Centre

Craig Family Centre

Hawthorn Community House

Kew Neighbourhood Learning Centre

Surrey Hills Neighbourhood Centre

Trentwood at the Hub

City of Monash

Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre

Dixon Neighbourhood House

Fusion Youth & Community Centre

Kerrie Rd Neighbourhood House

Mackie Rd Neighbourhood House

Mount Street Neighbourhood House

Notting Hill Neighbourhood House

Power Neighbourhood House

Waverley Community Learning Centre


City of Whitehorse

Bennettswood Neighbourhood House

Box Hill Sth Neighbourhood House

Burwood Neighbourhood House

Clota Cottage Neighbourhood House

Kerrimuir Neighbourhood House

Louise Multicultural Community Centre

City of Manningham

Living & Learning @ Ajani

Warrandyte Neighbourhood House




NIECH is governed by a Committee of Management elected from the member Neighbourhood Houses & Learning Centres of the Network. The Committee sets the strategy and direction for the Network in consultation with all member Houses & Centres, and works cooperatively with the NIECH networker Nikki Maddern.

Office Holders


President: Klaudia Lozo

Louise Multicultural Community Centre

Vice-President: Lisa Sun

Waverley Community Learning Centre

Treasurer: Mary Liston

Bowen Street Community Centre

Secretary: Pam Mills

Box Hill South Neighbourhood House

Ordinary Members


Julie Melia

Bennettswood Neighbourhood House

Amber Fleming


Laura Orr

Kerrie Rd/Mackie Rd Neighbourhood House

bottom of page